Chapter One – Introduction

Away from touring The Book Club and preparing for Infinite Monkey Cage and Nine Lessons and carols for Godless People, my next sideline project is Chapter One. I have far too many books and DVDs and not enough time to get through them all due to the brevity of life and the allure of so many more things every time I go near a bookshop or internet store. Therefore, I have decided that everyday I will read the first chapter of one of the books from my shelves and watch the first chapter of a DVD (that’s the first chapter after the title sequence). I will attempt to get through 365 of each before the next Edinburgh Fringe festival. I have no idea what use any of this will be to my life, my mind or whether it will be any use in writing a show. I think it will start today with chapter one of the film The Heart is Deceitful Above All Things by Asia Argento and EO Wilson’s The Diversity of Life.

This entry was posted in Chapter One. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chapter One – Introduction

  1. Keith Ramsey says:

    Interesting idea.

    I’ve spent the last fifteen years or so doing historical research of one kind or another and I very rarely get the chance to read a whole book, usually having to concentrate on the parts that are relevant to whatever I happen to be researching at the time and hoping that I get the chance to go back and read the rest later, which I never seem to do.

    I shall be watching your progress with interest.

  2. Alison says:

    I love this idea – how many times have you settled down to something you’ve really been looking forward to and ten minutes in realise it’s not quite what you were expecting. Am tempted to try this myself in a vague attempt to reduce my ‘to-be-read’ book pile to less than 100 books 😦

  3. Jim Groome says:

    Really interesting idea – subscribed and looking forward to more!

  4. Liz says:

    And if, as your tweet said, you want to pass them along once they’re read, then BookCrossing would be ideal for the books at least; you could see what happens to them and do a new project about that!

Leave a comment