Soaked in Salt, He Prepared Himself for the sting of Twitter

When will the new Moses come down the mount with the commandments of the internet? When Darron Arronofsky makes him I imagine.

On Milton Keynes Central Station platform, I sat down and had an ethical quandary. Shortly before I left my house, I saw a tweet that amused me. It was some UKIP fury about chubby free jazz misanthrope Stewart Lee’s latest television episode. Apparently, the tweeter deemed that he misrepresented UKIP and it is an outrage. There is some confusion in the UKIP wishing well of operations HQ on humour. When there was some mention of a comedian at a UKIP event being a little too scurrilous on his “some people are not from around here” jokes, Nigel Farage stated that, “hey, it’s just a laugh”.
Then, when the unkempt Hinge and Brackett of the modern age, Jonny and the Baptists, started their Stop UKIP tour, there was much umbrage and popped veins that such a thing should be acceptable in the art centres of the land. We all like a laugh, we all hate being laughed at. I love the jokes about that idiot over there, I hate it when it turns out that idiot over there is actually me.

I liked the phrasing of the Anti-Lee tweet. I am sure it has already joined Lee’s canon of bad reviews that he can feed off and paste up on walls. Though he is not on Twitter, he still likes to look through the keyhole at it, dressed in his least worst kimono.

After Retweeting the UKIP supporter’s comment, then I saw she only had 150ish followers.
The ethical quandary is, “is it fair to RT someone with few followers realising they may get some return volleys of umbrage?”

Will they enjoy the to and fro of debate and facetiousness that may arise, or will it create a fug of depression and sense of entrapment?

At what number of followers, if any, is the there enough equality, or does that not come into it. Some friends of mine have millions of followers and love stirring things up, getting a little abuse, and then hurling the abusers to their millions. The sound of splintered bones and spat flesh rises from the laptop.

is it all just a game, and if we wish to be publicly critical, do we then have to accept that our opinion may be spread beyond our followers, after all, people are hungry to be RTed, but usually when seeming to be noble and witty.
I decided to remove the RT – wrong or right?
Was this like butting into a conversation in a bar, “I am sorry, I heard what you said about the comedian and, though you do not know me, I wish to disagree.”

Is Twitter nothing more than constant butting in of conversations, but conversations you are deliberately having so loudly, you hoping to draw in your enemies or allies?
Some people feast on hatred, I believe Julie Burchill wrote about that recently. Is this a coping strategy, or do people really find being loathed arousing?

Sometimes, to be loathed can seem to justify you.
“That venal fascist despises me, and thus I will make the leap to considering that this must make me good.”
I am not confident that kindness will rule the social media, though there is much of it about, it’s an unfortunate trait that abuse can be so much stickier than caring or compliments.
As I think I have written before, much is made of the internet causing an alarming rise in verbal brutality, but when you go into a room with a few million other people, some of them will be arseholes. And cowardly arseholes will be attracted to an arena that allows anonymous abuse that can permit them the delusion that they are Samurai Warriors of shittiness. Some people guzzle imagined tears.

Ridiculously, one of the reasons I turned down Question Time in the past, beyond the main reason of my own foolishness and likelihood of talking rubbish while my inner monologue shouts, “shut up, shut up, shut up, and watch out, I think Peter Hitchens has got a blade”, is the bother of the possible twitter abuse. It is not so much the bother for me, but those I am close to who may prefer not to be swearily reminded of how useless their friend is. Then again, no one may bother, and would that be worse? (no it wouldn’t).
So, if all human nature doesn’t turn into a rainbow, perhaps it will be best to rub ourselves with salt and, thick skinned, brush off the abuse and bullshit while trying not to spurt out too much of our own.

Touring as ever – Birmingham, Southampton, Isle of Wight, Salford, Leeds, Huddersfield and more and more and more. Details HERE

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Soaked in Salt, He Prepared Himself for the sting of Twitter

  1. Sambit says:

    You have written it on my friend.Actually 3 of us tried in a widely read blog of United States where we discussed scientific achievements of entire world while bragging for our small community.We did it by rubbing us with salt(basically couple of idiots).Now two of us have no twitter account but he does…he is facing the problem from jealous idiots of our country who don’t belong to our community.

    I study in Britain & have made strong group with few guys who may not have same accomplishment like me but pretty generous and helpful.

    Key:Social networking site isn’t good for discussion & way we are talking people opposite might call us hooligan,internet goon.Better to get a peaceful life, which is why me & his cousin who is also a very accomplished inventor gave him this advice.

    But he talks with many British guys who are in science,engineering,sports.

  2. CeeJam says:

    As far as dealing with Twitter users is concerned, I cant speak from the position of one with a huge number of followers. Personally though, I think if someone wades in to a twitter battle with abusive language and poorly considered views or statements, they deserve whatever is coming. Retweeting to inundate them with righteous vitriol out of spite may be a lit low, but retweeting and following with a considered reply should be – at the very least – acceptable.

    Twitter is a pubic forum. They put their thoughts and views into the mainstream, and hope for the best. Evolution alone should teach us that we (figuratively) live or die by our choices. In a society where every school is full of winners, and no one can be seen to lose, perhaps it is an educational tool. (Why does that phrase always make me think of Michael Gove?)

    It’s taken me a while to subscribe to this blog because I keep up to date with it through twitter (@CeeJam). Hope you keep up the good work, and mind the trolls. They can bite.

  3. JD says:

    One simple way round the dilemma of wanting to share the nonsense without unleashing the fury of the mob is to tweet the comment with the user name redacted.

Leave a Reply

